Topic

Best June/ July Backpacking?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Best June/ July Backpacking?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    John Brown
    Spectator

@johnbrown2005

Locale: Portland, OR

I have some free time in June and July. Where do you think the best July backpacking in Western US is from a weather and bugs standpoint? Southwest seems hot, monsoony, Rockies and Northwest still snowy, then buggy.

Clearly there’s a sucking it up factor that’s gonna have to come into play here. :-)

David Patterson
    BPL Member

@davidp80

Don’t hold me to this one (as I have no personal experience there myself), but I’ve heard northern California is wonderful for backpacking and would most likely be nice at that time of the year. I imagine even a little farther north into Oregon would probably be suitable for what you’re looking for.

-Dave:)

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA

N. California is a fine place to be in June or July. BUT, this year might prove to be difficult getting into the backcountry until mid July. Record rain and snowfall should make this summer an interesting one.

David Patterson
    BPL Member

@davidp80

Ken,

Do the record rain and snowfall’s you describe apply to most all of the Northwest as well? I’m most curious about how the conditions have been in Washington (Mt. Rainier National Park) this winter. Thanks,

John Brown
    Spectator

@johnbrown2005

Ken, are you thinking Trinity’s/Marbles? Or Lost Coast?

I second Dave’s question, anyone up in Washington that can report on snow in the Olympics and Cascades?

Bob Bankhead
    BPL Member

@wandering_bob

Locale: Oregon, USA

See the PCT Postholer
    http://postholer.com/cgi-bin/postHoler?trail=PCT