Topic

UL Summer Weekends in yellowstone

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists UL Summer Weekends in yellowstone

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Miles Barger
    BPL Member

@milesbarger

Locale: West Virginia

I’m going to be working in Yellowstone from May until August. Obviously, I’ll be backpacking every chance I get. Being from Kentucky, I have little experience with camping in an environment like Yellowstone. This is a list I’ve worked up for these 2-3 day trips with nighttime temperatures down to 20F and daytime temperatures between 32 and 80F. If it’s an especially cold forecast, I’ll pack a Patagonia MicroPuff pullover (11oz) and pants (14oz), bringing my total baseweight to 7.8lbs and the temperatures I’ll be able to handle down into the teens. As always, critique from those with more experience in this environment on what will and won’t work, what is being left out, what could be lighter, etc., will be welcomed and greatly appreciated.

If anyone has 2-3 day trips in Yellowstone and the surrounding area that they’d highly recommend, I’d love to hear about them. Also, if anyone will be in the park this summer, let me know; maybe we could meet up.

Clothing Worn or Carried
    08.5 Patagonia Midweight Zip T
    04.0 Patagonia River Shorts (with liner)
    03.4 Outdoor Research Nimbus Sombrero
    03.0 Patagonia Capilene Mid-weight Socks
    35.0 Merrell Pulse II*

Other Items Worn or Carried
    23.4 PacerPoles**
    01.4 Suunto Compass
    00.3 ACR Mini Whistle on Spectra Lanyard
    01.0 Printed Map (hipbelt pocket)
    06.4 Canon S230 (hipbelt pocket)
    03.0 Sunglasses
    00.4 DEET (hipbelt pocket)
    00.4 SPF 50 in mini bottle (hipbelt pocket)
    00.1 SPF 30 chapstick (hipbelt pocket)
    01.1 Aqua Mira (hipbelt pocket)
    01.2 2 20oz water bottles (bungeed to straps)

Packing