Topic

Planning a cold camping trip in south central Utah…any suggestions, pointers?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Planning a cold camping trip in south central Utah…any suggestions, pointers?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    zachary anderson

@snatch

Im a newb to this forum, so first of all hello! My brother and I are planning a cold snowy camping trip towards the end of february in either central or southern utah. We have a couple ideas (calfs creek, blind lake) but I would like to know some thoughts. Camped alot but not much cold weather camping. Have some fairly good gear but not hardcore yet.

Any good intermediate camping without leaving vehicles too far behind for our first outing?

I appreciate any insight!!

zsa

obx hiker
    BPL Member

@obxer

Want to stay below what? 6500 feet +- depending on the forecast. A side canyon of the Escalante. The Boulder mail trail. Maybe Buckskin Gulch from the shortcut and back.

Jack H.

@found

Locale: Sacramento, CA

You're looking for a trip suggestion?

Any of em! Hiking upstream on the Escalante from Hwy 12 might be a good choice. Anyone knows where the water flows mid winter? Is it frozen or non-existant?

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

If you are camping in cold conditions, you may or may not have snow. The primary thing to remember is if you can keep 100% dry, you can easily stay warm with some good layers. As soon as you start getting significantly wet, it is the beginning of the end. The wetness might come from stepping in a slush puddle, or it might come from sweat.

One way around this is to plan out what is going to get wet first, e.g. socks, and have a dry change available.