Topic

First Time Snowshoeing—Clothing Help

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking First Time Snowshoeing—Clothing Help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Eric De Paoli

@ericd

Locale: EricD

Hello everyone,

Near the end of january I will be going on a snowshoeing trip for 1 or 2 nights out. I've been skiing, snowshoeing, winter hiking, etc, but this is my first time winter camping, and I'm having a bit of trouble on what clothing to choose, and what clothing I will need. In addition, what layering system would be best to use while actually snowshoeing, and while just sitting around camp cooking/sleeping. Also, if I were to buy gear, the only retailer near me is MEC, as much as I would like to buy form REI or Moosejaw, its not available to me.

The temps should be no lower than -12 (celcius), although windchill might be a minor factor, though extremely rare.

Sorry if this description is a bit brief, this is my first time doing this as I said, and I don't know how to go about choosing gear, etc. If there is anything else you need to know in order to help me, feel free to ask.

Cheers

-Eric D.

Jim W.
    BPL Member

@jimqpublic

Locale: So-Cal

Questions first.

What are the expected daytime temps?
    Do you need extra clothing to keep you warm sleeping?
    Will your group be hanging out in the evening much?
    What works for you on day-trips in these temperatures?

Here's what I've usually done, but not really with an eye on weight. In the Sierra daytime is usually 15F to 35F, nights are usually around 10F but can drop to -10F.

For daytime temps of around 15F to 30F or -10C to -1C:
    -Footwear is usually uninsulated light hiker boots with thick wool socks for insulation, plus gaiters.