Topic

What is this injury??

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Peter Sustr
    BPL Member

@czechxpress

Locale: Boulder

Hey guys,

just got back from a camping trip and the below image is of my arm after the trip. Is this a ripped muscle?? What is the treatment?

Any help for this uninsured hiker would be great.

arm

Anonymous
    Inactive

Peter,

What were you doing when this happened to you?

Peter Sustr
    BPL Member

@czechxpress

I got his injury while coming down some slick rock and my feet slipped from under me and I ended up sliding. I stopped myself by grabbing a shrub with my right arm. Could have been ugly other wise.

Any thoughts??

Sean Walashek

@caraz

Locale: bay area

I'm not a doctor, just a wfr. Good bruise/strain. Unprofessional perscription of some ibuprofen, rest, elevate, ice, compress test for mobility. Scale of 1-10 for pain? Caused by the fall or being yanked by your weight on the slip? Can you move it, is there a marked increase in pain when you do (as in OUCH!!!), whats your heart rate/breathing like normal? How old is the photo 2 days? Can you move all your fingers? If you push on a fingernail on the injured hand does blood return to it quickly? Monitor for hypovolemic shock the real danger (caused by fluid loss from internal bleeding) but on your arm and a couple days after the fact don't think a big issue. Breath easy, should improve with RICE and time (if there aren't any flags above)

Sean Walashek

@caraz

Locale: bay area