Topic

Appalachian Trail (MA section) June 2010

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Appalachian Trail (MA section) June 2010

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Twohey

@cmassrunner

Hello,

I'm new to this site, so i apologize if this question has been asked elsewhere, or if i'm posting it in the wrong area. I'm an amateur hiker (3x Philmont Scout Ranch, eagle scout, various weekend trips in MA) who's become fascinated with ultralight backpacking. I'm also an avid runner, running between 70-85 miles most weeks. I'm going to be running (note: trail running is almost more like hiking than running at times) the MA section of the AT in June of 2010 for charity in a time-trial format. So i'm trying to go as light as possible. I'm assembling a gear list now, and i was wondering if you could critique it; offer suggestions?

Integral Designs Silicoat backpack – 4.5oz

Shelter
    Equinox ultralight bivy cover – 6.5oz

Clothing
    Saucony speedlight shirt – 3oz (change shirt on restock, clean @ water stops once a day)
    saucony performance short (See above) – 2.1oz
    Patagonia capilene bottoms – 3.7oz
    generic light longsleeve – 4oz
    2x saucony elite socks – 6oz (3oz p/pair)
    1x Saucony grid A3 flats – 6.7oz

Accessories
    Bug net – 1oz
    Photon light – .2oz
    fire starter – 4oz
    Map – 1oz
    Aircore Pro Ursalite rope – 1.3oz
    trashbag for raincoat – 1oz
    MSR pack towel ultralite – 1.2oz
    empty plastic soda bottle – 1oz

Food
    1.5lbs (will restock 1/2 through)
    Purification tabs – 1oz

Total weight carried: 60.4oz (3.77 lbs)

any suggestions?