Topic

Working at going UL

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    Michael Baker

@mcpacker

Locale: Minnesota

I will start with an introduction. My name is Mike. I am 30 years old and live in Burnsville, MN. I am also a disabled veteran (Marine Corps).

A few years ago I got the urge to go backpacking. I never camped growing up and my only experience camping as an adult was car camping in state parks. I knew from my experience in the Marines that heavy packs were no fun. I initially planned on going UL at the start but most of the gear I was looking at was too expensive for me and me and sewing did not mix. So I went about getting the lightest gear I could afford. Though my tent was a bit pricey(Big Agnes SL2) I wanted something to protect me from the bugs that are in the north woods.

I have been getting out as much as I can the last few years and am quite obsessed with fine tuning my outdoor skills. I am proud that I can get a campfire going in most conditions and I always know where I am even when traveling off trail.

I must confess that I have strayed from my initial goal of going UL. My first trip this year in May had me worn out. A 45 pound pack did not work well with my soft body. I went about fixing that in the most economical way I could. I started working out hard core. I think I made the right choice at the time. On my last trip in September with my buddy and his son(his first hiking trip) I would kinda get in a zone and just take off. At least in doing that I got to take a lot of rest breaks waiting for them to catch up.