Topic

Dehydrating Apples

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Dehydrating Apples

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Chris Jones
    BPL Member

@nightmarcher

I can't get dehydrated apples where I live (only fried apple chips are available), so I am going to borrow a friends dehydrator and try making them myself.

I've never done this before, but since we're talking about apples here, it should be pretty straightforward (or is it not?) Any advice? Would any kind of red apple be fit for the job?

Thanks.

Dicentra OPW

@dicentra

Locale: PNW

I have a page on how to do this: http://www.onepanwonders.com/apples.htm

Tell us how it goes! :)

Laurie Ann March

@laurie_ann

Locale: Ontario, Canada

What Dicentra doesn't mention is the type of apple to use. You are better off to choose eating apples as opposed to those you would cook with. Apples like Granny Smith, Tantation, Fuji, Royal Gala and Red Delicious are wonderful dried into slices.

It's best to put the apples slices in a lemon (or lime) water solution or fruit fresh to keep them from going very brown. Let them sit for 5 minutes and then dry them until they are dry through but still pliable. The best way to tell if they are dry through is to take a slice and tear it… if any beads of moisture appear on the tear then you need to dry them a little longer.

Dicentra OPW

@dicentra

The apple slices on my dehydrator page were crunchy, not chewy. Slice thicker for softer dried apples.

Sarah Kirkconnell
    BPL Member

@sarbar

Locale: Homesteading On An Island In The PNW

As for what apples to dry, dry what you actually like to eat! My favorites are Gala, Braeburn and a couple others – we are lucky though here in Washington as sooo many types are grown just on the other side of the passes!