Topic

Woodgas stove – is ‘gas wick’ really needed?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Woodgas stove – is ‘gas wick’ really needed?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Terra _

@terrac-3-nu

Locale: Pacific Northwest - i.e. wet!

Hello BPL – newbie here :)

My question: I just made a Woodgas stove (used this great vid as our how-to) last night. It works great (my kids are thrilled at all the FIRE we've been producing) but I'm curious about the gas-wick aspect of the stove. No matter how narrow or short a can I use, it snuffs my fire right out (cue rolling clouds of smoke pouring off our apartment porch – must alarm the neighbors!). The stove works just fine without it, boils water like a charm. What's the purpose of the gas-wick exactly? Is it worth continuing to fiddle with getting one to work?

Thanks for your thoughts. Glad to have found this place – fantastic information on so many projects, I kind of don't know where to turn (says I, with a backpack, an aluminum can alcohol stove and a wood-gas stove in various stages of completion around the living room :D)

Tim Marshall
    BPL Member

@marshlaw303

Locale: Minnesota

if it works without it don't worry about it. I have never read about using a "gas wick" with any of these stoves and i have made a few of diff sizes.

What r u using for a pot stand?

-Tim

Rog Tallbloke
    BPL Member

@tallbloke

Locale: DON'T LOOK DOWN!!

Throw out the gas wick, make the holes in the outer can bigger, and make a pot stand out of some mesh or another can to go on top.

The 'pro' design is here:
    http://bushbuddy.ca/indexs.html

Terra _

@terrac-3-nu

Tim – I've only seen the gas wick on a few designs :)