Topic

Getting in shape for a thruhike

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Getting in shape for a thruhike

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Blair Gentes

@blastreach

I am plannng a thru hike of the pct this coming summer.

I was just wondering what any of you long distance hikers do to get ready/maintain their bodies before a journey?

It's not that i'm not in good shape. More along the lines of preventing injury.

I am currently cutting fat and building muscle. This is because of a recent knee injury, which put me on the couch for a couple months. (Tho this is the first time i've tried building muscle, so I'm a newb to that as well.)

Any information would be very helpful and greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Blair

Art …
    BPL Member

@asandh

as long as you are injury free, and in reasonably good shape at the start, the trip itself will get you into shape.
    if you feel you must train, I'd say more of the same. put a pack on your back and go for a hike.

edit :
    what I mean by the above is a basic starting ability to hike 15 miles a day with a pack. if you can do that, the PCT will get you into "real" shape as you hike it. Doing the PCT (4+ months) is much different than doing the JMT (2+weeks).
    If you struggle to do 15 mile days then some training is in order.
    Pick trails with hills, put a pack on your back.

Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

Locale: MN

as long as you are injury free, and in reasonably good shape at the start, the trip itself will get you into shape.

caveat: … as long as you don't plan on doing 20 miles days (or even 15) starting with day 1

Ryan Teale
    BPL Member

@monstertruck-2

Locale: Almost Yosemite

I started training for the my 16 day JMT hike about 3 months out.