Topic

Leaving your gear at camp – theft concerns

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Leaving your gear at camp – theft concerns

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 51 total)
  • Author
    Greg Foster
    BPL Member

@thefost

I know theft is a common problem at trailheads, but what about out on popular backpacking trails?

I'll be doing a short overnight trip this weekend. Leaving my gear at my campsite halfway up the mountian and heading for the peak with the bare essentials seems pretty tempting. I'm fairly new to this backpacking thing, and now that I have a bunch of unnecessarily expensive gear (darn you BPL =) I'm really hesitant to leave gear behind like I used to do with my cheap car camping junk.

Do you guys leave your gear behind while you climb peaks? Do you think there is any reason to be concerned?

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

I admit we usually cache the stuff a short distance away.

Cheers

Jeff Antig

@antig

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Where are you hiking? I'll be there.

Jason Klass
    BPL Member

@jasonklass

Locale: Colorado

Greg,
    You pose a GREAT question that I've thought about a lot. The conclusion I've come to is that most backpackers are cool and you don't have to worry too much about it. I feel safer leaving my campsite "unlocked" in the woods than my car in the Target parking lot. But, on the off chance, what I do is to make sure that when I do a dayhike from base camp, I always bring the essentials: wallet, car key, etc. I can buy another tent or sleeping bag but I would be SOL if someone took my wallet and keys. Those are my main concerns. I'm curious to hear other people's concerns/strategies.

Chris Wilson
    Spectator

@kinkbmxco