Topic

Gearlist for this Weekend

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Gearlist for this Weekend

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Adrien Baker

@adrien

This is my first time ever examining my gear for a trip. I'm not really trying for UL, however I am at least trying to be 'aware' of what I'm taking along this time. I'm still working on some gear selection and I haven't calculated in food, water or fuel yet. This trip is in a week so I'm not going to be replacing anything at the moment, but I'm definitely going to look for some lighter options in the 'Big 3' arena for next year. Also, I know some of my clothing choices are unconventional but I like to wear what's comfortable for me.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0Ak923OQtI9BgdFN4LS1wdC1QOUY1YWdSWGtvS3BkMGc&hl=en

We're hiking from South Fork Campground to Hockett Lakes: http://books.google.com/books?id=x9w0TEnnSv4C&lpg=PA49&ots=zN26z0qnn8&dq=south%20fork%20campground%20%2Bgarfield%20grove%20%2Bsequoia%20hikes&pg=PA47#v=onepage&q=&f=false

Adrien

Mike M
    BPL Member

@mtwarden

Locale: Montana

the thing that jumps out at me is the amount/number of clothing items- for a weekend trip usually the only spare clothing items taken are a dry pair of socks

typically a upper base layer is worn as your shirt (capilene/merino, etc), light pair of shorts, briefs and a pair of socks

in the pack- wind/rain gear, a thermal layer upper (you fleece jacket would door maybe the merino sweater- what does it weigh?)), a lower base layer (your capilene 3's)- used for around camp, sleeping if temp dictates, potentially worn hiking if conditions dictate and a spare set of socks

you could shave a fair amount weight just leaving some pieces home