Topic

Northwest Gear List from a rookie!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Northwest Gear List from a rookie!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Chris Wilson
    Spectator

@kinkbmxco

So I am new to Backpacking, but luckily discovered these forums before I threw down a bunch of money on gear… so here is what I have got so far

Pack/Shelter/Sleeping
    Gregory Jade 50 – 50 oz
    Tarptent Double Rainbow -42 oz
    Western Mountaineering Ultralite – 29 oz
    POE thermo 6 – 21 oz
    Total – 142 oz or 8 lbs 9 oz

Kitchen
    Snowpeak GigaStove – 3.75 oz
    Snowpeak TI single wall 600 – 2.8 oz
    Optimus Spork – .6 oz
    GSI insulated mug – 3.2 oz
    Mini Bic Lighter – 0.4 oz
    Total – 10.75 OZ or .7 lbs

Emergency/Misc
    Katydyn Hiker pro filter- 13oz
    Adventure Medical Kit (plus some extras) – 9 oz
    Spyderco Delica knife – 2.5 oz
    Princeton TEC headlamp – 3.7 oz
    Suunto Compass – .95 oz
    MSR packtowel – .7
    Total 29.85 oz or 1 lbs 8.6 oz

Toiletries
    Tooth Brush – 1 oz
    Tooth Paste – 0.8 oz
    Toilet Paper – 2 oz
    Total 3.8 oz or .23 lbs

Clothing
    Packed
    Marmot Scree pants – 16 oz
    Patagonia Capilene 2 – 6 oz
    Smart Wool Socks – 1.2 oz
    Boxer briefs – around 2 oz
    Montbell Alpinelight parka – 14.2 oz
    Patagonia R1 zip up – 12.1 oz
    Golite phantasm – 10 oz
    Total – 61.5 oz (OUCH!) or 3 lbs 8.4 oz

TOTAL packed weight- 244 oz or 15.25 lbs

Worn (usually start out wearing this)
    Vans Boardshorts – probably around 8 oz
    Boxer briefs – around 2 oz
    Smart Wool Socks – 1.2 oz
    50% Poly 50% cotton shirt – 4 oz
    New Era Hat – HEAVY (its okay it stays on my head)