Topic

Beartooth Wilderness 6-day list

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Beartooth Wilderness 6-day list

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 58 total)
  • Author
    David Stapleton
    BPL Member

@kamperdave

Locale: VA, DC, MD

I'm going on a six day trip with two friends in early September. We'll be hiking around the Beartooth area of the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness in Montana. This will be our first backpacking trip of more than three days and our first out west (we live near DC). Expected temps could be from mid 70's to below freezing. Weather is fairly unpredictable.

I am new to backpacking and especially to lightweight. I know there are things on my list that will likely make some of your skin crawl but I would really like your input anyway! I'm also thinking about (hoping) to be able to get my hands on the new TT Moment before the trip, but that might be cutting it too close! I also have a GG Vapor Trail but since I'm starting out above 30 pounds wasn't quite sure if that was the best pack to use.

Gear List

Thanks

-Dave

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT

Should be a great time of year to be there.

Some thoughts:

-Vapor Trail should be fine.
    -Too many batteries.
    -Sit pad is not needed (for me).
    -Get lighter camp shoes (if any).
    -I very much doubt you'll need two liters of water. One container to stash in a side pocket and fill from snowmelt and small streams should work just fine.
    -Too many extra clothes (shorts and convertible pants?).

David Stapleton
    BPL Member

@kamperdave

Thanks! It's kind of ridiculous but sometimes just having another person say, "You don't need that" is enough.

Any other comments? Maybe I'm so far outside the UL world that you can't even fathom where to start? :-)

-Dave

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec