Topic

Hiking Pole Questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    scott burgeson

@drdystopia

Locale: Upstate NY

I am new to hiking poles having just purchased my first pair. All of the instruction I have read explaining how to fit the poles say that they should fall 2 to 3 inches below the arm pit.

Now this feels a bit tall for me but I can really feel them working my arms and taking weight off of my legs on uphills and this length seems ok on the downhills.

My question is this. Even though every instruction I have read says poles should be this long every picture that I have seen of people using hiking poles, from pics of people on this site to pics of Andrew Skurka and other professionals, everyone has their poles MUCH shorter then this. This ranges from hip level to just above hip level.

Am I doing something wrong here?

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

Scott,
    Poles can be used in at least two ways-

To stabilize and to propel.

I use mine as 'outriggers' that help keep me upright, assist with traction, and provide 3rd and 4th points of contact when negotiating tricky terrain, slick logs, or swamps. I have them set to about the top of my hip bone.

When I 'swing through' I don't have to lift my hand much above elbow height. I can 'palm' the tops of the poles while going downhill. They feel right when providing an assist up an 12" 'step' in the trail or powering up a short steep section.

For propulsion, similar to the Classic cross-country ski stride, they need to be higher so you can get more of an extended 'push'.

Adjustable pole offer the advantage of 'tuning' until you find your sweet spot.

Aaron Zuniga

@gliden2

Locale: Northwest

Here's a nice sizing chart for poles=)
    Height Pole Size
    ft.in. inches cm
    2'9''-3'0'' 30'' 75cm