Topic

Good Backpacking Beginner Book

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Good Backpacking Beginner Book

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Ultralite Hiker
    Spectator

@ultralite

I am new to backpacking. Got my first trip next week. I have read a lot of information on the web, talked to some people I know who backpack, had discussions with some people at the local REI, but obviously still very much a noob. I am looking for a good beginner book to read before I go, and possibly to take with me for reference. Does anyknow know of a book that they wish (or did) read before they took their first trip? I realize all the info is out there on the web, but I figured it wouldnt hurt to have a consolidated information guide. It does not have to be just 1 book so multiple books welcome. If you do list multiple books could you please tell me what they cover (or cover more thouroughly) than the other?

Looking forward to responses.

Thanks

Tony Wong
    BPL Member

@valshar

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

A book that I started out with 15 years ago is Karen Burger's, "Hiking & Backpacking".

http://www.amazon.com/Trailside-Guide-Hiking-Backpacking-New/dp/0393313344/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1242086248&sr=1-1

It gave me a good run down of the basics and a primer on what sort of gear you will need and the options and differences between them.

It is one comprehensive book and I believe that the updated version has more photos than the one that I had.

That said, I would highly recommend that after you read that book and before rushing out to buy your gear, check out the book from this site on Backpacking Light.

I spent thousands of dollars to outfit myself and my family with traditional gear….now most of it now sits unused.