Topic

Looking for sleeping bag advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Looking for sleeping bag advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Daniel Kremers

@dkremers

Really looking for what rating to get. I live in the central california so most of my trips will be in the sierras. I'm just starting out on this backpacking deal and aquiring gear…got my first box of tid bits today and am pretty stoked.

I do have one trip planned and thats what i'm getting the gear for. I'm going to hike a section of the PCT in oregon (three sisters area) from north to south with my sister before she heads off to the peace core. We'll be going mid august and was wondering what sleeping bag the community would recommend. also i plan on using it later on but i'll primarily fair weather, 3 seasons hiker around my area and occassionally in central/eastern oregon when i'm visiting family.

any other suggestions on gear would be helpfull. I plan on getting an Exos 58 and a Gregory Z55 and whichever fits better i'll stick with.

I've almost decided on the new Therma-neo-air pad but i don't know if i want to spend the 180 (i'm 6'4 240#'s) on the large size pad.

Aaron Zuniga

@gliden2

Locale: Northwest

It sounds like you would do fine with a 32-40 degree bag for most your 3 season hiking in the sierras and the PCT in Oregon-but its really a personal issue on how warm of a sleeper you are, metabolism, etc. If you go with a 40 degree bag pair it with an UL insulated jacket like the MOntbell UL Down Inner, BPL Coccon. Then you will have more versitility within your sleep system and a camp jacket for those colder mornings and evenings!