Topic

G4

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    John Paul Reid

@reid

Locale: SouthEast

I've just purchased the kit to make the g4, has anyone tried this and is their any advice I could get about it? I am a novice sewer but I'm intrested in learning how to tweek my gear to my prefrences and I figured that the best way to learn is to just dive in head first on a project with variable difficulty such as this. Also, where can I find the framesheets that ULA uses in their packs? I would like a torso length one to incorporate into this g4, any other ideas for stays would be helpful but I like the sheet method at this current moment. Thanks for any help!

Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

Locale: MN

Michael,

You might want to also ask at the G4-Pack Yahoo Group

Lance M
    BPL Member

@lancem

Locale: Oregon

Michael,
    I recently finished my second modified G4 pack and am planning a 1500 cu in version. The online instructions are pretty straightforward. I assume the instructions that came with the kit are the same. A couple of comments on the instructions:

Making the side pockets (Step 6.5) refers to Figure 6.5 but the figure is labeled 6.1. I missed the part about 'splitting the corners'. The raw side pocket should look like this:
    G4 pocket

The shoulder strap bottom pieces (Steps 1.2 and 2.10) turned out shorter than I prefer. I prefer longer straps so I can temporarily lower my pack and retreive my water bottle on the fly. I also shortened and lowered the pockets so I could reach them. Regardless of the pocket mods, I suggest adding 6" to the straps initially and trimming later.

There are no instructions for finishing the exposed edge of the pad holders (Step 4.3). The Lycra edge doesn't fray, but I added 1/2" for a hem. It looks better and is a bit more resistance to stretching.