Topic

2016 PCT Thru-Hike; Convince Me re: Start Date

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion 2016 PCT Thru-Hike; Convince Me re: Start Date

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    John Papini
    BPL Member

@jpapini

Hello all! I’m planning a 2016 thru-hike of the PCT (completed gear list to be posted soon for critique!), and I’ve moved from the “learn about the trail, select my gear” phase of planning to the “logistics of resupply, daily mileage, and place/date goals” phase. Permitting went online today, and I’m hemming and hawing about my start date. I have no experience hiking out west – I live on the East Coast and I’m accustomed to hiking in the Adirondack mountains, where it is humid, buggy, and the terrain is rugged. I don’t hike in the winter, so my experience backpacking in the snow is limited (I do have snowshoes, but I don’t backpack or camp with them).

My initial instinct, in accordance with the PCT thru-hikers bible that is Yogi’s Handbook, was to begin in mid-late April. At one point she actually says that starting before mid-April is not only difficult, “it is dangerous.” As I do more research, however, and talk with people on the pct-l and elsewhere, I’m coming to question her assessment of risk, and I’m thinking of starting mid to late March. I’m not really doing any physical conditioning for the hike (I had an active summer, but nothing since October), so this would give me the opportunity to take it extra slow in the beginning until I get my trail legs, and also to write and just generally take my time.