Topic

Esbit vs. Alcohol Stove???

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Esbit vs. Alcohol Stove???

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Tony Wong
    BPL Member

@valshar

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

A friend of mine built me a Caldera Cone clone for my MSR Titan Kettle and I am pretty excited to use it.

I have never used an Esbit or Alcohol stove before.

My meals are dehyradted food that I make at home and I soak in my kettle for 30 to 40 minutes before putting it on a stove.

I currently use a MSR Pocket Rocket for making hot water for oatmeal in the morning, hot drinks morning and night, and for heating up my dinner…my dinners don't need boiling water, but the ability to simmer or slowly heat up the food is needed to aid in the rehydration process.

Any suggestions on which one I should use?

The Esbits seems easier in that you light the tablet and just sit back and wait, but have the negative of putting a oiling film on the bottom of the pot.

An alcohol stove seems like there is more fiddle factor in getting it setup and lite and the weight of liquid fuel seems like a disadvantage.

Appreciate your thoughts on the merrits and disadvantages of either one.

-Tony

Jolly Green Giant
    BPL Member

@regultr

Locale: www.jolly-green-giant.blogspot.com

I'll go ahead and state the obvious. Esbit is a lighter option on trips more than a few days, but it isn't always widely available and different Esbit manufactures may make them in different sizes and of different quality. The Caldera Cone is amazingly efficient though either way. I had always heard that alcohol burned hotter which may require less overall fuel, but I'd be interested in getting clarification on that.

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California