Topic

backpacking lanterns

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) backpacking lanterns

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    edward peacock

@mikepea

I’m new to the ‘hood so please be somewhat kind.Ijust read the review about lanterns,mantleless vs mantle, and I gotta say I love my snowpeak lantern.I have never had an issue with mantles or globes. I just stick a couple of extra mantles in the bottom of the storage box with the lantern. I have packed this little sucker from coast to coast and from border to border logging thousands of miles and have yet to replace the globe(replaced mantle after UPSing gear to RMNP. mantle survived on rtn trip via UPS).If storage box is used and REASONABLE care is applied when packing it will endure, by the way my pack weight has NEVER exceeded 30lbs and most times it’s a LOT less including the lantern. so, in my view the mantles and globe issue don’t really amount to a great deal.plus the light output is awsome and fuel use is minimal

Anonymous
    Inactive

Mike,

Welcome to the “BPL Hood” are you referring to the
    Snow Peak Giga Power Lantern 4 oz’s without canister???

james solomon

@dralahiker

Locale: Southeast USA

I’ve used a Primus canister lantern for years and been happy with it. Mantles have not been a problem, but carrying gas canisters sure is (FYI-I use lanterns only for sociable group camp trips, not hardcore B/Ping). There is a new super LED lantern out that got an excellent review, uses 4 AAs, and weighs 9.4 oz(maybe a hair less with Lithium batteries). The real kicker is the cost: $20. And it’s at your local Target, in the Flashlight department, not Camping! I was skeptical too, but read this review and took the plunge. Great lantern, even at twice the price! River Rock LED Lantern

Rick Dreher
    BPL Member

@halfturbo