Topic

picts of my gear

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear picts of my gear

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Thomas Conly
    BPL Member

@conly

Locale: Lots of canoeing and snow

I’ve been making most of my own gear for two years now. I’ve often referred to my gear on these forums in gear lists and such and I’ve had a few people ask for pictures. Well I finally got a camera so I thought I’d post pictures of the stuff I’ve made. I’ve been encouraged by the gear that I’ve seen on the forums so I hope my pictures will encourage a few of you to try sewing your own gear too.

This is a Ray-Way tarp and net tent. I made the net tent 6 inches taller. Tarp:18oz
    Net tent:14.6oz
    Ray-Way tarp and net tent

This is a deluxe Ray-Way quilt. I really recommend the draft stopper to anyone who makes a quilt. It really makes the quilt seem wider. 26oz
    Ray-Way quilt
    Quilt in stuff sack

Thru-Hiker minima vest with 1.8oz primaloft sport. I took the scrim out when I made it. I recommend the athletic cut. 5.4oz
    minima vest

This is a bomber hat I made from sleeping bag scraps.
    1.3oz
    bomber hat

These are the mitts I use for winter. The blue and black ones are silnylon vapor barrier, the grey and aqua ones are polarguard 3D and the black outer mitts are store bought. The overmitts have a bit of insulation as well. The mitts were made from scraps I had from the tarp and a quilt. The combo is extremely warm.
    vapor barrier: 0.4oz per pair
    polarguard mitts: 1.8oz per pair
    Swany overmitts: 5.7oz
    Winter mittsWinter mitts worn

These are silnylon vapor barrior socks. I put socks on over top to keep them up rather than sewn in elastic. .5oz.
    Vapor barrier socks