Topic

I don’t get wind shirts

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique I don’t get wind shirts

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Eric Fredricksen
    BPL Member

@efredricksen

Locale: Silicon Valley

I'm new to the wind shirt concept, or to practicing it at least.

I have a new Montbell UL Wind Jacket and an OR Zealot. Neither have had to face rain on the trail, but it rained here in Seattle recently (oddly enough) and I threw on the MB wind shirt to try it out. It felt stuffy, or maybe I should say clammy, — whereas the Zealot felt perfectly pleasant to wear. I thought the point of wind shirts was comfort, but if the Zealot is more comfortable, I don't see the point if I need a WP/B layer anyway.

Is it that it protects better from the wind than the Zealot would?

Maybe its the particulars of the situation. I realize the MB isn't the most breathable of wind shirts. Also, I was wearing short-sleeved cotton underneath, and maybe it was mostly my arms that were unhappy.

Someone please explain.

— Shirtless in Seattle

Joe Westing

@pedro87

The idea of windshirts is that although they are less waterproof and windproof than a standard rain jacket, they are much more comfortable and breathable to wear while hiking or even just around camp. Because they are usually very lightweight (3-4 oz), there is not much of a weight penalty for carrying both a windshirt and a rain jacket. Windshirts can act as bug protection, or as a more comfortable alternative to rain jackets in windy, foggy, or drizzly conditions. Also, they can be used to complement a poncho.