Topic

Sleeping in Hiking Clothes

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Sleeping in Hiking Clothes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Thomas Kight
    BPL Member

@ningen

My first post! OK, so it's a newbie question, but the curiosity is real. As I am just now transitioning to Light/Ultralight hiking, I have been reading all sorts of material, but something is unclear: What's the current position of most on the issue of carrying a change of clothes or just a clean base layer to sleep in vs. sleeping in what you hike in (which on first glance strikes me as neither pleasant or wise, but hey, as I said, I'm just a newbie). Any thoughts are most welcome.

Dave T

@davet

EndoftheTrail
    BPL Member

@ben2world-2

I carry a separate set of "sleep wear": long sleeves silk top and bottom plus a pair of liner socks — weighing just 7oz. in total. Well worth the weight in terms of comfort provided — and also goes a long way to keeping my bag clean.

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

Like Ben I carry a set of silk pygama coveralls – hood to toes. Weight 120 g (4.2 oz). My wife uses a silk liner – similar weight.

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

I don't bring "dedicated" sleeping clothing. As the temp drops I bring featherweight or midweight base layer as part of my layering system. This is my sleep wear as well as extra insulation during the day when needed. The clothing I wear dries very quickly and typically has anti-microbial aspects which keeps stink down somewhat.

–mark

Jason Brinkman
    BPL Member

@jbrinkmanboi

Locale: Idaho