Topic

Stomach Sleepers?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Michael Brizendine

@traileater

I'm fairly new to the lightweight backpacking world and have been doing some research on sleeping bags and quilts. My question is, everything reviewed discusses which bag is best suited for back sleepers and side sleepers, but I have yet to see anything mentioning anywhere about a bag suited for sleeping on your stomach. I sleep on my stomach with my head on my arms and that generally poses a problem when it comes to a bag that closes in around your head via draw string or other design. I don't have experience with any UL down filled bags, so I'm unsure how to make a purchase with the way I sleep. Any suggestions would be great!

I live in Houston, so it's of no great importance at the very moment since its brutally hot and humid, but I want to be ready for hiking outside of my state later this year where I would require a much warmer sleeping bag.

Jay Wilkerson
    BPL Member

@creachen

Locale: East Bay

Check out Western Mountaineering- there bags are top of the line. And maybe a custom bag made by Nunatak USA. Since you are stomach sleeper consider a Quilt that you simply just pull over your body w/ a good sleeping pad underneath you. BPL has great quilts, Nunatak and Golite. Goodluck

Bob Bankhead
    BPL Member

@wandering_bob

Locale: Oregon, USA

Jay's right – check WM

I sleep on my stomach a lot as well as my side. I have the WM Sycamore MF (microfiber shell with hood)for here in the PNW and PCT. WM also makes the same bag hoodless as the Alder MF.

Both are rated to 25°F and weigh 32 and 31 ounces respectively. GREAT BAGS.