Topic

question about workmanship of UL products

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) question about workmanship of UL products

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    HC
    BPL Member

@impulse04

What level of quality have you come to expect from the UL cottage industry?

I recently purchased an UL shelter that has loose stitching, inconsistent thread tension, non-straight seems, etc. Do these flaws have an affect on product durability and performance?
    stitching starting to unravelrearcornerseam

Are these flaws an accepted limitation of products made by the UL cottage industry?

Tony Wong
    BPL Member

@valshar

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

I am relatively new at the lightweight backpacking.

The two companies that I have bought UL equipment from is from Henry Shire- Contrail and Mountain Laurel Designs- Soul Side Zip Bivy & Rain Mitts by Ron Bell.

I have not noticed any sewing problems with my Contrail…I have a trip this weekend and will take a closer look at the stitching on it. But I can tell you have I have used it extensively over the past year without any problems with the tent.

I can defintely say that Ron's work is just top notch.

This weekend I spent 3 hours carefully seam sealing my Soul Side Zip Bivy with eVent top and I have looked over every inch of the sewing that was done.

This work is amazing…clean, straight and tight.

By it's nature, I think that UL equipment needs to be handled with a little care so that it will last. It is light weight, not bullet proof.

One thing that I might suggest for you is to contact the person/company that you bought your shelter from.