Topic

thoms tyvek GCB (ground cover bivy)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear thoms tyvek GCB (ground cover bivy)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    t.darrah
    BPL Member

@thomdarrah

Locale: Southern Oregon

Attached are a few pictures of the latest prototype of my tyvek GCB project.

view from hood

view of GCB with bag inside

sleeping bag on top of GCB

Nicholas Seeley

@seel1214

Hi, I was wondering if you could post some directions on how you made this. I am new to this so I apologize in advance if there are already directions up that I can not find. Thanks

Eric Beaudry

@ericbeaudry

Thom,

Nice stuff. Curious if this is made with your bonded seams?

Also, any idea what the weight ended up being? Looking to build a bivy here soon. This tyvek version looks promissing.

Thanks.

t.darrah
    BPL Member

@thomdarrah

All GCB's have been made using bonded seams. Early versions were made using a 2" overlap seam but on more recent models I've switched to a 1" bonded seam. Strength and durability have not been effected by this change. The weight has been noted in prior postings but that was before the seam change. I will weigh and post pictures of a newer version soon.

If interested please PM with email information.

Guy Bouchard
    BPL Member

@gbouchar

Any news on this project? I am thinking about making a bivy either sewing silnylon or bonding Tyvek. Any pattern online?

Tom Holbrook
    BPL Member

@zandar

Locale: Central Coast of California

Thom,

Did you get your computer issues ironed out? Would love to see your plans/drawings.

Z

Thomas Trebisky
    Spectator

@trebisky

Locale: Southern Arizona