Topic

Visiting Denver – looking for assistance

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Visiting Denver – looking for assistance

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Rod Guajardo

@rod_g-2-2

Locale: Central Texas

Hello,

I will be coming into Denver for work the week of Feb. 25th, however I am coming in a day early to hopefully get some hiking and or snowshoeing in on Sunday, Feb. 24th. I am totally unfamiliar with the area and was wondering if anyone would like to get together and show a Texan some of the local trails? I am new to winter conditions, however will have the proper gear for a day hike. I've been doing research, but not being from the area, I was hoping a local could help point me in the right direction with idea's of area's to visit or to stay away from.

So far I have been thinking of driving out to St. Mary's Glacier. For one, I have never seen a Glacier, two, if I am by myself, it appears it would be pretty hard to get lost.

Thanks!
    Rod

Rod Guajardo

@rod_g-2-2

Ohhh man, looks like Andy Skurka will be at the REI Denver Flagship store Feb. 22 discussing his Great Western Loop hike. Looks like I will have to go up even earlier!

Peter Fogel
    Spectator

@pgfogel

Locale: Western Slope, Colorado

The people at REI are most helpful in these situations. They will be among the best resources for trip ideas as well as possible partners.
    Be advised, we've had a real winter this year. You may have to be somewhat flexible as to your trail picks, because of unusually volitile high country weather conditions.

If you have the time, the Pagosa Springs area has had an amazing winter. Our snow pack conditions almost anywhere are currently between 100 and 200% Have fun!

Peter

Rod Guajardo

@rod_g-2-2

Peter,