Topic

Top Bag to Quilt Conversion (!!!)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Top Bag to Quilt Conversion (!!!)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Jed Augustine
    BPL Member

@jaugusti

Locale: Appalachians/Rockies

Hey everybody-

I have been lurking in the shadow of the forums learning and reading the BPL Bible and trying to figure out how to make the switch to ultralight backpacking without eating saltines and peanut butter for the rest of the year.

I am kind of excited because I think I may have come up with a solution for one of the "big 3". I bought a Big Agnes Pomer Hoit 0* top bag at an REI Stratch and Dent sale last year, and after read up on Top bags and quilts, it seems like I could drop a lot of oz from the Pomer Hoit by converting it to a quilt.

The problem is this: I am a total newbie to MYOG, without any semblance of sewing knowledge or anything like that. I have BIG ideas (or at least ideas that excite me very much) for this project (removing zips, draft collar, bottom fabric, making the mummy hood detachable…) but I have no idea how to execute. If anyone could offer their advice, ideas, or links to info on technique, that would be just lovely.

My thanks to everyone for this community, and for whatever comments y'all have.

Jed Augustine

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

There is an article on this very site about making a quilt from a sleeping bag. Membership required to read it I think.

Make Your Own Gear: Transforming a Mummy Sleeping Bag into an Arc Top Bag

Jed Augustine
    BPL Member

@jaugusti

Hrmm… well, what's the name of the article for future reference?

David Wills

@willspower3