Topic

Any med people that carry lightweight med kits?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Any med people that carry lightweight med kits?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Patrick Craddock

@pcraddock

I'm a doctor about to hike the PCT. I feet it'd be pretty dumb of me not to carry a pretty decent kit. I'll bring the standard stuff, some antibiotics, antiseptic, a little sewing thread etc., but I want to pack light. Any good hints out there?

Ryan Faulkner
    Spectator

@ryanf

My goal was to keep my med kit under one ounce, I used to carry a .4oz kit, but i am more comfortable with my 1oz set up.

I carry the basics.

-2x 3"x3" gauze pads
    -2x antiseptic towlettes
    -6x medium sized bandaids
    -2x large adhesive bandages
    -5x butterfly wound clouser strips
    -2x small packet of triple antibiotic ointment
    -1x antihistamine tablet
    -5x Ibuprofen tablets
    -5x acetaminophen tablets
    -1x safety pin

I also carry duct tape, superglue and a needle and thread in my repair kit, which can all be used to close wounds.

For foot care, I carry hydropel and leukotape.

but you are the doctor.. tell me what i am missing

Ross Bleakney
    BPL Member

@rossbleakney

Locale: Cascades

Closure strips are great (better than trying to sew stitches yourself). The other thing I would add is a little syringe (without the needle) to use as an irrigator. It is my understanding that you should wash out a dirty wound with water (before putting a bandaid on it) as opposed to trying to use an antiseptic (like alcohol, which would tend to aggravate the wound).

Mike W
    BPL Member

@skopeo

Locale: British Columbia

Dave T

@davet

Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

Locale: MN