Topic

Feb Superior Hiking Trail

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Feb Superior Hiking Trail

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

Locale: MN

SHTA has a Feb 23 day hike on their events schedule.

I'm looking at attending that and then doing a short overnight from Gooseberry Falls State Park back to the Castle Danger trailhead.

Looking for folks to share the journey. I'm a Twin Cities resident … a carpool is a definite maybe if there are others.

Disclaimer: While I definitely work at going light, as my avatar suggests … I'm not particularly fast.

Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds

Locale: Gallatin Range

I'm an ultralight backpacker, Jim. But in the winter I prefer shorter miles and enough clothing to keep me warm. If this means my base weight goes from ten pounds to twelve so be it.

Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

in the winter I prefer shorter miles and enough clothing to keep me warm. If this means my base weight goes from ten pounds to twelve so be it.

well, Skurka's icebox gear list listed a base pack weight of more than 13lbs plus another 11 worn or carried. I won't be trying to match that.

Chad Miller

@chadnsc

Locale: Duluth, Minnesota

I would be interested in doing the hike and a possilbe overnight. I'm just getting into winter backpacking so I still have a good deal of heavy equipment (aka sleeping bag). I'll see if I can do the overnight or just have to car camp somewhere along the trail.

Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds

Here's how my winter gearlist breaks down right now. This is theoretical though since this list has a number of new items I haven't tested this season. I didn't weigh my winter pack last year but it was probably a little heavier since I've upgraded my pack, sleeping bag and pad this season.