Topic

Down pants

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Down pants

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Casey Cardwell
    BPL Member

@niles

Locale: On the Dirt in Oregon

I tried searching for some info on this, but searching "down" doesn't come up with a very accurate list.

So, I'm looking for any help, or advice on making my own pair of insulating down pants, similar to Montbell's UL Down Inner Pants.

I was planning on using 1.1 uncoated downproof ripstop from Ed Speer's site, along with his 900 fill down.

Can I just make the pieces, stuff them with down, spread the down evenly, and sew a pattern similar to the Montbell's, in order to keep the down in place, and then stitch it together like normal? Or is that ignorant? I've never worked with down before, so I don't know what to do really. But I've heard the horror stories, so any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks

Lynn Tramper

@retropump

Locale: The Antipodes of La Coruna

I don't know how MontBell manages to ensure the down is spread evenly in their garments. I own the UL down jacket, and have often puzzled over this question. I have made other down projects the traditional way (ie make a channel and then stuff a pre-weighed amount of down in each channel). Might be worth trying on a small test sample with some cheap throw-away fabric first. You can always rip open the fabric to retrieve the down afterwards.

Neil Bender

@nebender