Topic

Sleeping bag questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Sleeping bag questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Lindsay Grady

@linzy980

Hi.
    I am sort of new to backpacking, have gone on a couple summer hikes and think I am ready to delve into some winter trips. I have a Kelty lightyear 25 degree down sleeping bag, but know that this alone will not suffice for the colder temperatures I will no doubt encounter. I am thinking about trying a quilt to put over my bag and was thinking about the western mountaineering version. I have never seen these used, only read about them here. How small do they pack? Is this the best method to try or should I just break down and buy a zero degree rated bag (I am a very cold sleeper). I most likely will be using a tent, however it is a floorless design, so then, my other question is groundcloth and sleeping pad. Currently, I use a Big Agnes REM aircore, which is great on warmer trips, but I am finding out that closed cell foam is the way to go in colder climates. Any recommendations I could get would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to freeze my tail off "experimenting" with different ideas.

JASON CUZZETTO
    BPL Member

@cuzzettj

Locale: NorCal - South Bay

Step1: Go to the Reader "Review Index" on the right side of your screen. This will help you with general knowledge and information about pads, quilts and any other gear you may be looking at. Sometimes these reveiws are general and just what you need to start out. The Magazine articles can be too technical starting out. But in my humble opinion the basics in Reader Reviews will get you started while the Magazine side will get more technical.

Step 2: Then go to Magazine and browse through the 12 pages of Gear articles listed. Do the same for Technology.