Topic

Best Camera for Hiking?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Best Camera for Hiking?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 83 total)
  • Author
    Kyle Purcell

@dufus934

Locale: North Texas

So…I stepped on my camera and broke the screen…..long story.

That being said, I am in the market for a new camera, and was wondering from some of these photo gurus what is the best camera for outdoor pics. Obviously price is an issue (i'm in college), but other than that i just want something that will take good pics.

I am an amature photographer (very amature…haha), and I want something small and durable. I've heard about a new camera that is water and shockproof (made by olympus i think). Has anyone had experience with this.

Doug Johnson
    BPL Member

@djohnson

Locale: Pacific Northwest

I have a Canon Powershot SD 850 IS and it is great. Excellent video, image stabilization, and great shots. 5.8 oz. I really like this camera a lot.

The Pentax Optio series is also excellent. Their WP is also waterproof- a real bonus.

Now, I have a follow up question. What is the lightest digital camera? I'm doing a crazy trip this coming summer and I'm trying to get my pack weight as low as possible, but I also need good images because the trip will be posted here on the site.

So now there are two questions:
    1) What is the best hiking camera?
    2) What is the lightest digital that still takes decent shots?

Thanks!
    Doug

Andrew Browne
    BPL Member

@andrew_browne

Locale: Mornington Peninsula AUSTRALIA

My vote is the Pentax Optio, 4.5oz on my scales
    I am more than happy with the photos I take.
    Your hands need to be very still with close up shots….hard to do when you've just walked up a steep incline and are heaving for breath