Topic

food dehydration?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition food dehydration?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Kyle Purcell

@dufus934

Locale: North Texas

I have been thinking a while about dehydrating my own food, and how to go about doing it. I have zero experience dehydrating food, and don't want to do it wrong for fear of getting spoiled food or something worse that I haven't thought about. Is there a site that can teach me these things, and also I would be interested in hearing any lessons people learned the hard way (so i can learn from other people's mistakes with out having to learn from my own inexperience). Thanks all!

Laurie Ann March

@laurie_ann

Locale: Ontario, Canada
    Laurie Ann March

@laurie_ann

the hard way…

oh I have a few of these…. lol.

if you dry tuna make sure you have the windows open – it's stinky

the fumes from habanero peppers can be really hard on the eyes and lungs (best to buy those dried from a spice shop or grocery store) – that said you can dry them if you are doing a dish where they appear as a minor ingredient

if the food sticks to the trays pop them in the freezer for 5 minutes… the food will pop right off

don't over-dry seafood – rubbery shrimp isn't very appealing

Sarah Kirkconnell
    BPL Member

@sarbar

Locale: Homesteading On An Island In The PNW

You really, really get into it…many items are cheaper overall to buy predone.

If you haven't, go take a look at http://www.harmonyhousefoods.com at their dehydrated legumes, fruit and vegetables. The items they carry are fantastic. Considering you don't often need more than 1-2 Tbsp of each dried item per person, the 1 cup zip bags they sell last.

I dry items like pasta (for instant pasta) and some hard to find items, but nowdays I just buy the rest from said company.