Topic

How can I make my sleeping bag warmer for winter travel??

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear How can I make my sleeping bag warmer for winter travel??

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Robert Klang

@guitarzan

I have a 40 degree mummy bag but in a couple weeks im going back packing in yosemite where the expected low is from 15-20. i dont have the money to upgrade my bag. i was thinking i would sew a cotton bed sheet to the shape of the bag to give me an extra layer. any other ideas would be very helpful, cause im a wimp in the cold ;)

thanks

Peter McDonough
    Spectator

@crazypete

Locale: Above the Divided Line

Wear all of your insulative clothing…including things like your rain gear.

Doug Johnson
    BPL Member

@djohnson

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Absolutely. And use a bivy sack. Also, wear an extra vest and warmer insulation in your feet and head- especially a balaclava.

Last, and maybe most importantly, increase your pad insulation. Put an extra foam pad underneath- a lot of your warmth is lost to the ground.

Best of luck!

Christopher Plesko

@pivvay

Locale: Rocky Mountains

Getting a 40 deg bag to 15-20 deg if you're "a wimp in the cold" is going to be tough. What clothing options do you have?

Honestly borrowing may be the best option. Do you have anyone you can borrow a 15deg bag from?

Steven Evans
    BPL Member

@steve_evans

Locale: Canada

I'm no pro, but IMO that's a big push.
    I agree that wearing all your clothes and beefing up your pad will get your bag to a lower temp – but probably the smartest thing to do (apart from borrowing someones 15 degree bag as per Mr. Plesko) is to make sure you have an easy out during the trip…ie. the car is close to your proposed campsite.

P. P.

@toesnorth

Locale: PNW