Topic

Mariposa and Gorilla hip belts, pack volume, recs

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Mariposa and Gorilla hip belts, pack volume, recs

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Don Burton
    Spectator

@surfcam310

Locale: City of Angels

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to backpacking and I'm looking to go to a lighter pack. I've been using a Deuter ACT Lite 60. I think the weight is 3lbs 14 oz. Yikes! Even with this pack, I have my base weight (no fuel, food, or water) down to about 14lbs. My pack fits and hauls very comfortably.I live in CA so a bear canister is necessary some times. I use the Bear Vault 450 (smaller one).

I really like the configuration of the Mariposa with the external pockets, hip pockets, tent sleeve, pole loops, …

My concerns:

-hip belt attachment. From what I understand, it's just attached with velcro as opposed to a "hard mount."

Does the load transfer to this belt well? For about 5 days my skin out weight would be about 25-27lbs but at times would reach the upper limits of the pack (35 lbs) if my kids are along. Not a huge concern but something to think about.

-Lack of compression. I know it has some but I don't like to just stuff my bag in there to fill it out. Sorry, I've tried and don't like it. LCD I guess.

-Volume. The GG site says 57.1L total but I read some reviews that list it around 68L depending on the pack size. Which is it? 68L is too big.

Gorilla

Same concern about the hip belt and volume. Reviews say it's 47L but the GG site says 38L total which is too small for me.

I guess I wanted some feedback about my concerns and some recommendations for or against, plus recs on other packs. I'm looking for a pack 2lbs or less. I don't want to go frameless.

I'm also looking at the Granite Gear VC 60.

Thanks for any info.

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec